Open Nav




Mission & History

The United States Twirling Association is a national, nonprofit youth sports organization dedicated to positive youth development through the sport of baton twirling.

As the nation's leading sport baton twirling organization, USTA serves a national membership of athletes, parents, coaches, club and studio directors, competition directors, judges and other twirling supporters through a wide range of recreational, educational and competitive programs. USTA offers a number of educational programs for recreational and competitive twirling athletes, as well as comprehensive training and certification programs for coaches and judges. USTA also serves as the official United States representative to the World Baton Twirling Federation.

Board of


USTA is led by a seven-member Board of Directors, elected by USTA's Professional members. The Board of Directors is responsible for:

  • Providing strategic vision for the growth of USTA and the sport of baton twirling
  • Engaging in long-range planning for USTA programming and its schedule of events
  • Managing the financial and organizational aspects of USTA

The Board of Directors consists of five sector representatives who live in the sector they represent (unless there were no candidates from that sector) and two at-large board members who may live in any sector. The current members of the USTA Board of Directors are:

Karen Cammer, President

At-Large Representative

John Chamberlain, Vice President

Sector 4 (Southeast Region)

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Thomas Breuckman, Secretary

Sector 1 (Western Region)

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington

Sheri Carter

Sector 2 (Central Region)

Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming

Jason Lee

Sector 3 (Northeast Region)

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, Vermont, Washington D.C., West Virginia

Jonathan Burkin

Sector 5 (Mideast Region)

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Jennifer Marcus Schwartz

At-Large Representative


USTA National Champions

Hall of


The USTA Hall of Fame recognizes professionals who have made a significant and enduring contribution to the sport of baton twirling and growth of USTA. Without these inductees and their contributions, our sport and organization would not be the same. We owe these leaders our gratitude for inspiring us and laying the foundation for what is yet to come.



USTA sponsors a number of philanthropic programs to give back to our local communities and support the growth of our sport and organization.

This includes providing cash scholarship awards to athletes based on their placement at our U.S. National Baton Twirling Championships and Festival of the Future, as well as grants to fund new ideas and activities that promote the sport of baton twirling. Learn more about these programs at the links below.